Skip Navigation

Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum (IGETC)

IGETC is another pattern that California Community College students can use to fulfill all lower-division general education requirements at any CSU or University of California campus.

The IGETC pattern requires completion of a minimum of 37 semester/49 quarter units of lower division work with a C grade or better in each course (C- is not allowed).

Requirements of the IGETC are as follows:

  • Area 1 - English Communication
  • Area 2 - Mathematical Concepts and Quantitative Reasoning
  • Area 3 - Arts and Humanities
  • Area 4 - Social and Behavior Sciences
  • Area 5 - Physical and Biological Sciences

Because the IGETC Pattern is accepted by both CSU and University of California, with minor differences, it is a good option if you are undecided about the system to which you will transfer. If you are enrolled in a major that requires extensive lower-division preparation, you may not be able to complete all the coursework for IGETC pattern prior to transfer.

You should consult with your counselor to determine which general education program is most appropriate for you.

Copyright © 1997-2017 XAP Corporation. All rights reserved.
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the XAP Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.